Meeting L C Tyler

The City Adventurers were extremely excited to attend a talk by crime writer L C Tyler.

City Adventurers meet L C Tyler
City Adventurers meet L C Tyler

He currently writes two series of award winning crime novels – the Ethelred and Elsie mysteries and the historical crime series featuring C17th lawyer John Grey.

The Ethelred and Elsie mysteries, otherwise known as the Herring series, have a modern day setting. The Herring Series follows the adventures of Sussex-based crime writer Ethelred Tressider and his literary agent, Elsie Thirkettle.

Herring in the Library won the Goldsboro Last Laugh Award for the best comic crime novel of 2010 and Crooked Herring won the same award for 2014. The Herring Seller’s Apprentice and Ten Little Herrings were both nominated for Edgar Allan Poe Awards in the US.

We have already reviewed and recommended an number of these books on this website as part of the Solve The Murder Book Club.

Farewell My Herring

The Maltese Herring

Crooked Herring

The John Grey historical mystery series is set in the 1650s and 1660s. It features lawyer and spy, John Grey, and his childhood friend and accomplice (in various capacities) Aminta Clifford. “Fire”, the fourth book in the series, was shortlisted for the CWA Historical Dagger.

L C Tyler has also published one humorous (non-crime) novel A Very Persistent Illusion, which has been lingering on my “to read” pile for over a decade!

Talking to LC Tyler
Talking to LC Tyler

The City Adventurers love reading about mystery, so we’ve got our own bookshop and have started our own book club.

Click here to visit our book shop!

Click here to join the book club! 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *